26 Beach Restaurant

IMG_7041

Something I really suck at is making decisions. If I showed up to 26 Beach on a whim, especially as hungover as I was, I would have probably ended up crying under the table. Luckily, I was informed that I’d be brunching here a day in advance. I was also informed that we had to be here, on the west side, from the east side, at 10 o’clock in the morning. After a full day of heavy bar hopping. Looks like Sean ordered for me – a big, fat helping of NOPE.

Before our bar hopping adventure on Saturday, I took to Yelp to prepare. After a few photos, it became clear that I was either gonna go with Chef Katsu’s Original California Roll Sushi Burger or the crab scramble. It looked like those were a hit, and also everything I’ve ever wanted.

So Sunday came around and I woke up at my regular waking hour of 7am anyway. I spent the next 2.5 hours whining until it was finally time to leave and Sean decided that he absolutely needed coffee. I hopped out at Dunkin’ Donuts (that was the compromise), and grabbed two iced coffees, putting us 15 minutes behind. We show up 20 minutes late and are handed two books, nay, menus and I am relieved that I came prepared. I decided to go with the Sushi Burger and sipped on my mimosa in hopes of hair of the dogging this hangover while engaging in conversation. Spoiler alert: the mimosa did nothing for my hangover, but was delicious and refreshing, with a fresh orange slice and everything.

So this sushi burger showed up and I wanted to cry, mostly because I was thinking about the amount of energy I would need to put into opening my mouth wide enough to eat it. I got the burger medium rare and it was topped with snow crab salad, avocado, sushi ginger, lettuce, tomato, and wasabi-shoyu mayonnaise. All sandwiched between a brioche bun. Everything about this was yes.

IMG_7042 copyIt’s the sushi-burger hybrid you didn’t know was missing from your life. There were so many different flavors! The burger patty was perfectly juicy and tender and the crab salad on top of it was creamy and delicious and complimented the meat very well. I feel like avocado is overused and overrated a lot of the time, but it was a fantastic addition to this burger. It was fresh and creamy and contributed a neutralizing flavor to the rest of the goods.

The burger was juicy with enough flavor that sauce wasn’t the main attraction, but I love me some good sauce. The wasabi mayo had all the great flavor of wasabi without the intensity, which probably would have been too overwhelming in this situation. As I mentioned before, this burger was a huge tower of deliciousness. I ended up eating most of it with a fork and knife (sue me). About halfway through, I spotted some ginger and realized I hadn’t experienced that flavor yet. Normally, I’m not big on pickled ginger, but I am all about trying new things, so I wasn’t gonna pass on it. Good thing I didn’t, because when I added a piece of ginger to a forkful of angus beef, crab salad, and avocado, I think I saw God. It’s like the burger goddess fucked the sushi god and this came out of the kitchen. Next Level.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone. It’s totally worth waking up early for after a day/night of heavy drinking. I am in love with the CA roll sushi burger, but there’s so much on this menu that anyone could find a plethora of things they’d like for breakfast, lunch, brunch, or dinner. If you’re anything like me, do yourself a favor and check the menu beforehand so you don’t end up crying under the table.

 

Where? 3100 Washington Blvd Venice, CA 90291
Price Range: $15-20
Parking: Street and I hear there’s a small lot in the back

Leave a Reply

