Tabula Rasa

IMG_4004.JPGWine bars aren’t normally my jam, but when I heard a hot new wine bar called Tabula Rasa just opened less than a mile away from me, I was determined to check it out. The philosophy nerd in me was sold on the name alone, but going to a wine bar sounds classy as hell, so I was into it.

I dropped by with some friends on a Sunday evening and happened to catch the beginning of happy hour. I wasn’t expecting to stumble across a happy hour on a Sunday, but it was 5pm, the sun was shining, and all wines and draft beers were $2 off. I started with aIMG_4007.JPG.jpeg house red ($6 happy hour price) and ordered the Cuban sandwich I read so much about on Yelp.


I was into the wine. I’m just growing out of my boxed wine phase and sipping on red wine at the bar was very pleasant. I stretched my first glass out until they brought our Cubans to the table and opted for a blackberry IPA (also $6 for happy hour) for my second round. The beer was cool and refreshing, but I think I might do wine again when I come back.

The sandwich was alright, but the food is not the IMG_4002.JPGmain attraction at Tabula Rasa. Food options are pretty much limited to a burger or Cuban that are made on a george foreman grill behind the bar. I was only slightly disappointed because Yelpers were raving about this sandwich. The flavors were good, but there wasn’t a lot of substance and it was completely flattened out on the grill.

Overall, this is a great spot to hang out over some wine. The ambiance is awesome and would probably be even better at night. If you’re into working on stuff with a glass of wine instead of a latte, this seems like a chill spot to bring your laptop and do your thing too. There were a couple of people typing away on their laptops with glasses of wine at the table.

Where?: 5125 Hollywood Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90027
Price Range: $8 – 12
Parking: Street

Leave a Reply

