Donut Friend

I don’t have a big sweet tooth, but who could say no to a scrumptious donut? I heard of Donut Friend, but I never went out of my way to find out where it is. All I knew is that if someone brings a box of donuts from Donut Friend, they are a good friend to have.

There are good donuts and there are great donuts. I’m no snob, a classic Krispy Kreme donut is one of the best donuts I could think of. My enthusiasm for extensive and exciting flavors stays with savory food. When it comes to sweets, I like em’ simple. For example, I do not want my cheeseburger sandwiched between donuts and I definitely don’t want peanut butter on it.

IMG_4095   IMG_4104

Donut Friend delivers exciting combinations in donut form. They have plenty of flavors of donuts, custard, frosting and toppings to go with it. It appears that there’s ice cream as well, but the donut ice cream sandwiches were a very last minute observation. Guess I have to go back.

IMG_4093You can either pick from their extensive menu of creatively crafted donuts, or make your own. I’m normally a make your own kinda gal, but I let the dessert gurus take the wheel on this one. There were SO MANY to choose from! Normally, I’d say fuck it, let’s get two each. But there is such thing as too much sugar and I’m not about it.

Sean and I split the popular S’Morrisey and less popular, but also delicious, Youth Brulee donuts. The Green Teagan & Sara donut really stood out to me but I guess it stood out to everyone else too because it was sold out. Yet another reason to come back!

The S’Morrisey was essentially a s’mores donut. A chocolate cake donut cut in half to make room for toasted marshmallows and topped with chocolate glaze and graham cracker crumbs. You know, I’ve seen this one around a lot, but when I finally had it in front of me, I really wasn’t thrilled. I’m not big on cake donuts because they’re so dry and that was my least favorite part of it. The flavors were good, but I couldn’t get past the cakeIMG_1240. Still, the concept was exciting, and I was excited to finally get my hands on it.

The Youth Brulee was a treat. In a last minute decision, switching from the samoa donut because it was another cake donut I didn’t have high hopes for, it was a great last minute decision. It was a really simple donut – glazed and filled with bavarian cream, but also topped with bruleed sugar and orange zest. And it was awesome! I thought it was just going to be a brulee flavored glazed donut, but the top was actually bruleed and had that crunch when you bit into it. I’m glad I waited to eat this one second. Would get again.

In the end, I would highly recommend donut friend. Although I liked one of the two donuts, I’ve tried at least half a dozen of these before I even got to the magical place itself and it was always a treat. I will definitely be coming back for the Green Teagan and Sara donut and maybe even put ice cream in between it??? Sounds like a dream.

Where?: 5107 York Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90065
Price Range: $4-7
Parking: Street, but the gentrification of Highland Park hasn’t made this difficult yet!

One thought on “Donut Friend

Leave a Reply

