Hans’ Homemade Ice Cream

“I’m never eating sweet things again!” I exclaimed at least three times after my diabetes bomb from Birthdae Cake. Yet, alas, I found myself drunk and looking for ice cream in Huntington Beach. After a killer meal from Burnt Crumbs and some brews from Dude’s Bewing Co to chase it down, I found myself looking for a cold, creamy treat in Lot 579. Tucked away in a corner of this food hall, Hans’ Homemade Ice Cream had exactly what I was looking for.

Not at all hungry, I was going for a scoop, but after seeing all these flavors, I had to do two. There were so many choices!! I went with german chocolate cake and peanut butter oreo. I was going to go coffee oreo, but after a taste of Sean’s peanut butter oreo, I had a IMG_1919change of heart.

I’m not the biggest fan of chocolate ice cream. Although, as I’ve said over and over, I’m not the biggest fan of sweets in general, so I guess I’m just a big, fat hypocrite. Anyway, the german chocolate cake ice cream was chocolate ice cream with that delicious creamy coconut stuff. It was awesome! Creamy, delicious, choco coconut work really well together and this ice cream brought them together wonderfully.

The peanut butter oreo was on a different level. My scoop wasn’t overflowing with oreos like Sean’s was, but the peanut butter ice cream was so good, I didn’t even care. You know how peanut butter tastes really good but it’s just so heavy if you eat it by the spoonful? This ice cream flavor brought out the delicious flavor or peanut butter in a lightweight, refreshing scoop of ice cream. I would highly recommend for all peanut butter fans. At least sample it, you won’t regret it.

So the ice cream was great, but I also want to give a shout out to the scooper guy. Not only did he put up with my indecisiveness and many sample requests, but he asked us which flavor we wanted on the bottom. Do you realize how amazing that is?! You know you’ve been in this situation. You got two different scoops of ice cream and they just put one scoop on top of the other, but you liked one of the flavors a little more than the other and that’s the one that happened to be on top and then you’re stuck munching away on your waffle cone, wishing you got to enjoy that crunchy delight with the superior flavor. Maybe you got lucky and the superior flavor was on the bottom or maybe you asked your scooper to put it in that order, but has anyone asked you what order you want your scoops in? Because they should. They always should.

Where?: 21058 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Price Range: $5-7
Parking: Mall lot

 

Leave a Reply

