Canter’s Deli

canters-2

As a New York Jew, one of my biggest anxieties about moving to LA was not being able to find a pastrami sandwich.

That’s a lie. But the way I’ve heard Yelpers and critics defend Langer’s, Canter’s, or any other pastrami sandwich worth giving the time of day to makes it sound like New York Jews run around swinging pickles and stuffing pastrami on rye down their throats.

Anyway, Langer’s and Canter’s have both been on my list for a while. I love sandwiches, they’re my favorite food. However, I find it extremely difficult to justify spending $16+ on a sandwich, which is really the only thing that’s been holding me back from trying these out. Luckily, I got an exciting notification from Uber Eats that I get $20 off my next two orders. I scrolled through the long list of options and Canter’s immediately caught my attention. I could totally justify trying a $16 pastrami sandwich for free!

canters-1

I got the pastrami reuben with a side salad. It actually ended up costing me $1.61 after tax and delivery, but I can’t complain. Thank you  Based God  Uber Eats! The sandwich was delicious! It came piled high with lean pastrami, sauerkraut, some swiss cheese and Russian dressing. There was extra Russian dressing on the side for those of us who like our sandwiches saucy (me). It also came with a few little pickle halves. I mean, of course it would. That’s part of the Jew lunch starter kit, right?

Overall, it all went together really well. It was delicious and filling and probably enough for two meals if I wasn’t a gluttonous animal, but that’s just how I roll. If some sort of promotion allows you to try this sandwich without spending $16 on it, I highly recommend it. If you are wealthy and in the mood for a pastrami sandwich around WeHo at any time of day or night (open 24 hours!), then I’d also recommend stopping by Canter’s and grabbing one.

Where: 419 N Fairfax Ave Los Angeles, CA 90036
Price Range: $15-20
Parking: 90 minutes free with validation

One thought on “Canter’s Deli

Leave a comment